2020 Census

Proposed 2025 Election Precincts

Legal Descriptions

Precinct #1, LINCOLN: Consist of all Lincoln and Grant Townships AND includes the City of Lincoln in Lincoln Township.

Precinct #2, TRAER: Consists of all Perry Township AND includes the City of Traer in Perry Township.

Precinct #3, DYSART: Consists of all Geneseo, Buckingham and Clark Townships AND includes the City of Dysart in Clark Township.

Precinct #4, GLADBROOK: Consist of all Spring Creek and Crystal Townships AND includes the City of Gladbrook in Spring Creek Township AND Sections 1 through 12 in Carlton Township (except that part of Section 11 within Garwin Corp limits) AND all of Sections 1 through 6, Sections 10, 11, 12 and 15, the North Half of Sections 7, 8 and 13, Section 9 (except the SW Qtr), the East Half of Section 16, Section 14 (except the SE Qtr) all in Howard Township.

Precinct #5, GARWIN: Consists of Sections 13 through 18 of Carlton Township AND includes the City of Garwin AND the South Half of Sections 7, 8 and 13, the SW Qtr of Section 9, the SE Qtr of Section 14, Sections 19 through 36 all in Howard Township.

Precinct #6, TOLEDO: Consists of all Toledo Township EXCEPT that part lying within the Indian Settlement contiguous Trust Land in Toledo Township AND includes the City of Toledo in Toledo Township.

Precinct #7, CLUTIER: Consists of all Carroll and Oneida Townships AND includes the City of Clutier in Oneida Township AND Sections 1, 2 and 5, the West Half of Section 7, Section 6 (except that part lying South of 290th St in the SE Qtr), Section 4 and 9 (except that part lying South and West of a line beginning 242 feet South of the West Qtr Corner of Section 4 and running Southeast to a point approximately 390 feet South of the East Qtr Corner of Section 9), Section 3 (except the South Half of the SW Qtr and the SW of the SE Qtr), the East Half of the NE Qtr of Section 10, the North Half and the NE of the SE of Section 11 AND Section 12 (except that part lying within Elberon Corp limits) all in York Township.

Precinct #8, MONTOUR: Consists of all Highland, Indian Village and Columbia Townships EXCEPT that part lying within the Indian Settlement Contiguous Trust Land in Highland, Indian Village and Columbia Townships AND includes the City of Montour in Indian Village Township AND Sections 19 through 36 of Carlton Township.

Precinct #9, TAMA: Consists of Tama and Otter Creek Townships EXCEPT that part lying within the Indian Settlement Contiguous Trust Land in Tama Township AND includes the City of Tama.

Precinct #10, ELBERON: Consists of the Cities of Elberon and Vining AND that part of Section 6 lying south of 290th St in the SE Qtr, the East Half of Section 7, Section 8, that part of Sections 4 and 9 lying South and West of a line beginning 242 feet South of the West Qtr Corner of Section 4 and running Southeast to a point approximately 390 feet South of the East Qtr Corner of Section 9, the South Half of the Southwest and the SW of the SE of Section 3, Section 10 (except the East Half of the NE Qtr), the South Half of Section 11 (except the NE Qtr of the SE Qtr), Sections 13 through 36 all in York Township.

Precinct #11, CHELSEA: Consists of all Richland and all of Salt Creek Townships AND includes the City of Chelsea in Salt Creek Township.

Precinct #12, INDIAN SETTLEMENT: Notwithstanding any other provision in the Code of Iowa, Indian Settlement land held in trust by the Secretary of the Interior of the United States for the Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa and its trust land contiguous to the Indian Settlement lying in Tama, Toledo, Indian Village and Columbia townships of Tama county shall be an election precinct. The Indian Settlement precinct shall be redrawn to include land contiguous to the

Indian Settlement when such land is purchased by the settlement and added to the Indian Settlement land held in trust by the Secretary of the Interior of the United States. Upon recording of the deed transferring the land to the United States in trust, the County Recorder shall notify the County Commissioner of that fact. If the Commissioner is notified more than seventy days before the next scheduled election, the Commissioner shall redraw the precinct for that election. The Commissioner shall notify the Board of Supervisors of the redrawn precinct boundaries and shall certify the redrawn boundaries to the State Commissioner. Land completely surrounded by the boundaries of the Indian Settlement precinct, but not included in the settlement precinct, shall be included in the precinct in which such land was located prior to redrawing of the Indian Settlement precinct. The Commissioner shall notify registered voters in each of the redrawn precincts of the change in the precincts and the proper polling place for those affected voters. [Pursuant to Chapter 49.7, Code of Iowa.]